A warning was posted at Digital Webbing. Here is the text of the message as posted there:
This ad is listed in the talent search area:
"BlackHeart Studios is looking for colorists for their up coming project. Yes, this is a paying gig. Pay is $100 a page. Also a contract to work for BlackHeart Studios. Please send samples of art work or a link to the email provided. You must be able to start right away. Also you will have to do a test page. And be able to turn in the work as schedule. Please serious people only. Tell us a little about your self and anything other than that feel free to email us thank you.
• 03/31 • CONTACT:
blackheartstudios@gmail.com"
I had replied to a similar ad before, which I never received a reply, and followed up and was asked to do 2 more pages for samples. The artwork looks very amateurish, and given teh promised page rate, it threw up a red flag.I asked for more information regarding his company to which I was sent to a link,
http://blackheartstudios.com, website of artist Jason Cooper. I looked at the site and compared the art to the art I was given to color. The art I was given was nowhere near the quality as the art on the site although it appeared they tried to somewhat mimic the art style. I also noticed the signature, while not very legible, didn't seem to read Jason Cooper or J Cooper or anything remotely similar.
So I contacted the ad poster again & asked who did the art. I was told it was a good artist they were working with & this time, signed the email Jason.
A couple other things bugged me. The ad poster's email was a gmail address, while on the webiste the email lead to the website's domain. Also, the ad poster called his studios, BlackHeart Studios on the website, it's Blackheart Studios.
So on a hunch, I wrote the contact email to Jason Cooper through the website's email address. Mr. Cooper replied that he was in no way affiliated with this ad & apologized for the confusion. To which I made him aware that I was given the link to his site and the ad poster was signing emails Jason as well. Mr. Cooper will be looking MUCH further into this.
I just wanted to make everyone aware of this ad poster. If the art given to do samples doesn't have the quality you'd expect in relation to the rates offered for the job. USE caution!!